So far Oracle WebLogic Server has been available for deployment in On-Premise & Cloud IaaS models only. Recently Oracle has also made it available as a PaaS in 11g & 12c versions. All infrastructure and Basic Installations tasks are automated in WebLogic server for Oracle Cloud which dramatically cuts the down time it would normally take On-Premises.

Major differences in the PaaS model vs. previous models are in Installation, Application management using Resource Manager, OPSS, High Availability (HA) setup & Authentication against IDCS.

WebLogic Server for Oracle Cloud supports Universal Credits Model (UCM) & Bring Your Own License (BYOL) options.

There are 3 different Editions offered –

  1. Oracle WebLogic Server Standard Edition.
  2. Oracle WebLogic Server Enterprise Edition (WebLogic Server SE +).
  3. Oracle WebLogic Suite (WebLogic Server EE+)

Components involved in Oracle Cloud WebLogic Server are –

  • WebLogic Server
  • Market Place
  • Resource Manager
  • Compute
  • Virtual Cloud Network (VCN)
  • Load Balancer (LB)
  • Database
  • Vault
  • Identity (IDCS)


Steps to launch WebLogic Server for Oracle Cloud

Step 1: Setup User, Compartment & Vault.

Step 2: Create VCN, Subnet, LB.

Step 3: Create Database for Domain & Application registration.

Step 4: Create Confidential Application in IDCS.

Step 5: Create Domain.

Key features in WebLogic Server for Oracle Cloud

  • Pay for What You Use.
  • Scale Up & Down when needed.
  • Application availability in no time compared with Legacy systems.
  • Additional security provided by VCN, Vault & IDCS services.
  • Restore backups with Zero downtime in Clustered environment.

I hope you find this article helpful, Please share your thoughts and experience in the comments section below.